Hymns of the Atharvaveda

Vedic Sacrifice, Yajna

Translation by Ralph T.H. Griffith

Atharvaveda is the fourth of the Vedas. For a long time it was not considered a Veda. Only Rigveda, Yajurveda and Samaveda were recognized as the triple Vedas (triveda). Historians believe that the Atharveda was included among the Vedas after the Vedic civilization matured and incorporated many traditions and practices of other groups and cultures. It may also be partly due to the growing influence of Shavisim, Shaktism or Tantrism. The Veda contains many mystic chants, spells and prayers meant to either heal or harm or seek protection against harmful forces. The following is a list of hymns from the Atharvaveda for which English translation is available.

(Some of these hymns may take time to download, especially if you have a slow internet connection. So please be patient)

Suggestions for Further Reading

Source: The Hymns of the Atharvaveda. translation by Ralph T.H. Griffith [1895-6]. The text has been reformatted by Jayaram V for Hinduwebsite.com.  As far as the presentation of the material is concerned, this online version does not follow the original book. While all possible care has been taken to reproduce the text accurately, we cannot guarantee the accuracy or the authenticity of the text produced. We strongly recommend to  use this text for general reading and understanding and refer the original edition for serious studies and academic projects .

Translate the Page